Family: #babydes

This is so overdue, but Charlie and I are proud to introduce the newest member of our family Desmond Michael Eisenstat. I have been out of blogging commission the last few months to enjoy and adjust to life as a new mom. And what an adjustment it is. But more on that later. I’ll start at the beginning with Des’ birth story. His due date was April 25th and on April 17th I had to stop working because I was so literally bed ridden with back pain it’s not even funny. Plus, there had been some low fetal movement and increased amniotic fluid going on so I had to go to the Dr’s office every other day for a fetal stress test. I wanted nothing more than for this kid to make his appearance and I was convinced he would be two weeks late in true first baby fashion. It just so happened that two people had given me the advice to get a pedicure, so I thought maybe there’s something to this. On Monday the 22nd I got a pedicure at 2 in the afternoon and I was in labor by midnight! It works ladies. Except when I went into labor I was in labor denial. A week prior I had woke with the same exact pain in my lower abdomen that felt like an excruciating cramp that never went away. Unlike contractions that supposedly come and go. When I went to the hospital it was nothing, nada, zip. Turns out it was a Braxton Hicks episode because real labor felt exactly the same. But I didn’t know it at the time so I roamed around the house in the wee hours of the morning trying to wait for this cramp to pass. It didn’t and eventually my moaning woke up Charlie and my mother in law. A few hours later they convinced me we should probably go to the hospital. I thought I was going to die in the car and I guess that makes sense because when we got to the hospital I was 9 centimeters dilated people. Nine centimeters! Both relief and fear came over me. I had done it all on my own and we were practically at the finish line. But OMG is this baby about to come out right now? No he wasn’t because it took another 5 hours for the last centimeter. When the Dr. warned me it could still be a while because his head was still rather high up, I had to give in and get the epidural. What was I so afraid of? It didn’t hurt at all. And I was still super proud of myself for making it so far with out one. After an hour and 45 mins of pushing my little miracle entered the world – a little blue because the cord was around his neck – but still absolutely perfect! Seven lbs 5 oz and 21 inches of pure perfection. It’s an indescribable feeling to meet the tiny little human you’ve been growing for nine months. To love someone so much when you’ve just only met them. Special thanks to my husband who was such a rock star through all of it. Yes, I know how lucky I am. We’ve been so blessed and its only just begun!

IMG_1962

IMG_1971

IMG_1983

IMG_1988

IMG_2008

IMG_2010

IMG_2030

Leave a Reply

